Can animals be romantic?

PalmWolf

Tourist
Thank you for entering this thread!:husky_grin:

I’ve been zoo exclusive for a few years, but a lot of the time I find myself very insecure and unsure about whether or not being with an animal could be… romantic, I guess. I’ve never been with a human before and I don’t intend to, but I always convince myself that it just wouldn’t work because they can’t speak, can’t perform human tasks, etc etc - and that it wouldn’t be anything more than just interspecies mating.

My question is, can animals (specifically dogs, but open to others) be romantic?

At least, is there anything more than just a mild social connection or just unromantic sex?
I have no experience being with an animal so hopefully someone can enlighten me on how it works and if the animal can show deeper affection. Please let me know! :gsd_nervous:

(I’m M/M btw if that changes anything)

I don’t know your definition of romantic but animals really build strong emotional bonds with their partners. They cuddle you, sleep with you, are protective of you, know when you are sad and tries to make you feel better. So in my opinion I think they are pretty romantic.

I don’t know your definition of romantic but animals really build strong emotional bonds with their partners. They cuddle you, sleep with you, are protective of you, know when you are sad and tries to make you feel better. So in my opinion I think they are pretty romantic.
Thank you!! These are the sorts of things I was looking for. Emotional bonds and such… I’m just not sure whether to be single forever or actually have and care for an animal of my own. That’s why I’m so cautious about it lol

Depends on what you mean by 'romance'. But my girl rubs on me, shoves her snout in places all over me, licks my face, (and everywhere else) cuddles with me, leans on me, and much more. It may not be romantic to all, but to me it is.