The health of your critters, and you.

I have a question, I am new to this and been in the back of my head for a few years now, but I am scared. How do you guys know if the female dogs don't have brucellosis canis, or any other transmissible desease
Cause you care about her health, and if you suspect you check with your vet?

There are brucelosis tests available and are quite common if you have to breed her 🤷

I have a question, I am new to this and been in the back of my head for a few years now, but I am scared. How do you guys know if the female dogs don't have brucellosis canis, or any other transmissible desease
Cause you care about her health, and if you suspect you check with your vet?

There are brucelosis tests available and are quite common if you have to breed her 🤷
I love that @Richard1998 is asking about such things as "brucellosis canis" as it shows a concern around health in general, and more specifically, the health of his dog and himself. (y)

@Goattobeloved 's response dovetails beautifully into this with sound advice of going to a good vet to get answers.

Now, I've said all this to say:
1st, you do NOT have to be having sex with you dog in order to contract this disease. While it is less common to be transmitted by non-sexual contact, it can happen, simply by saliva.

2nd, people like me who've been doing this for decades, simply don't find this as a problem... just as long as you take very good care of your dog's health as well as your own. Case in point: I have been sexually active for a little over 51 years with dogs, and have never had a single encounter with this disease. So, it is a fairly rare occurrence in dogs.

Hope this helps... 🐕

I love that @Richard1998 is asking about such things as "brucellosis canis" as it shows a concern around health in general, and more specifically, the health of his dog and himself. (y)