Do you ever feel guilty?

C

cessno

Im new here. But I am not new to the feelings I have for animals. I have very strong feelings for animals every now and again and am very certain that I'm a zoophile. But I also feel that I am ashamed of it, that i shouldn't be a zoophile. I see this website and enjoy the safe place to enjoy it. I especially love that theres so much information on how to practice without harming our feral companions. I guess what I mean to ask is... are feelings of shame normal? Should I feel shitty and change it? Are my feelings of wanting to accept it wrong?
Im just new to this idea and am at a point where I will either accept it and enjoy a life of animal companionship, or deny it and bury down the desire I know I have.

I just wanna know yalls responses to my mental predicament

Cheers! :3

I'm going to echo what @pes said, if you're both willing adults and nobody is harmed or coerced, what's there to feel bad about?
It's important to reflect on what we do so we can head off problems, but no harm no foul.

The shame and guilt are pretty common feelings, not because we're necessarily doing anything wrong, but because we tend to want to conform to what the rest of society tells us we should feel. Modern research indicates that zoophilia is often a sexual orientation which is determined before puberty and isn't something one chooses or is something we can just stop doing any more than a straight person could choose to be gay or vice versa.

Here's my 2¢ on the matter:

Because I grew up in a christian home, there was P-L-E-N-T-Y of guilt to go around. Over time, I realized that this guilt was not normal in a loving and caring relationship. So, I reasoned, if I'm not hurting my animal companion and (s)he truly enjoys what we're doing together as the two consenting mature animals that we are, there is simply no place for guilt or shame in this loving equation.