Where to learn about the risks and challenges unique to raising an intact male dog

shortbutfast

Zooville Settler
Hey there yall. Bit of a controversial opinion here, but with many years in breed rescues I absolutely think spay and neuter policies do a world of good for our friends. This is to say, I'm very familiar with breed specific health worries, how to tell the difference between a food allergy and a skin infection, signs of hip dysplasia... but I realize that with all the dogs fostered and shuttled to vets over the years I have zero experience with any intact male dogs at any age!

I've ready differing reports on cancer risk which is actually reassuring. I still fear my ignorance and would love any websites, books or other sources yall know of to educate myself on health and temperament differences. I lost my cat recently to a form of tumors in her lmyph nodes. This cancer was made immensely more likely to occur because she was an apartment cat not spayed until well after her first heat. Any thing similar I should know about with male dogs? Definitely seems like females get the short end of the stick as regards risks of choosing not to spay....

I had a rescue dog and he got along fine with my other dogs. I only have German Shepherds and the only difference between the rescue and the other boys was that he didn't try to mark everything. IDK anything about cancer risks or such but there are tons of good books and even more info on the web.

Maybe US has more if this spay/neuter pro retardness than rest of the world because of dog overpopulation issues.
Never spay/neuter as a precautionary measure for something that is highly unlikely to happen.
Spayed/Neutered or not - All dogs will live breed typical lifespans, which are considerably shorter than ours and some cancer or illness will happen sooner or later.

Maybe US has more if this spay/neuter pro retardness than rest of the world because of dog overpopulation issues.